The movie.

In my eighth month of pregnancy

I was the size of a small bungalow.

Legit.

Feeling a little blue

He suggested going to see a movie.

He knew I needed a distraction

From the thoughts that plagued me.

Off we went to the local theatre.

The place had been in business our entire lives.

Not a dime had been spent on it in many years.

There was a stain on the big screen.

A natural consequence from

The Rocky Horror Picture Show

A decade earlier.

The floor made suction noises with each step

You didn’t think about using the washroom.

Regardless, we were happy to go see a moive.

Well, he was really happy about the popcorn.

(In hindsight…should we really have eaten there?)

The lights dimmed and I began to relax,

As he knew I would.

As the Bodyguard began, I put my legs up on his lap.

I watched him eat his popcorn in adoration.

He knew how to cheer me.

I was thankful to him for understanding.

Kevin Costner and Whitney Houston,

Transported me into their love story.

I was completely engaged,

Uplifted from my reality.

He had to shake my legs to get my attention.

He wanted me put my feet down.

He needed to adjust his position.

I did so without really leaving the movie trance I was in.

BANG!

CRASH!

What?

I looked toward the noise.

He wasn’t there.

Neither was his chair.

I looked down.

There he was.

His seat had broken off from the row.                                                       Image

It had fallen to the ground…

And taken him with it!

I burst out laughing!

I didn’t even ask if he was ok first.

It was the funniest thing I had ever seen.

He was motioning me to move over.

Move?  I couldn’t move!

I could barely breathe.

He was embarrassed.

He gave me the look.

That made me laugh even harder.

He could see I was absolutely useless to him.

He got up and sat in the empty seat beside me.

He lowered himself ever so slowly into the seat.

His cautiousness fueled my musing.

Why we weren’t kicked out…

Seated again, he just ignored me.

He knew he had to.

I would sober up,

Picture him on the floor

And the bubble of laughter would burst open again.

After several failed attempts,

I eventually regained my composure.

My breathing regulated,

And I went back to the Kevin and Whitney.

He leaned over to me,

He whispered, in a voice that meant business,

“When the movie’s over, I am out of here.  Meet me outside.”

That was it.

Snort filled laughter escaped me!

Luckily, the movie ended right then.

He literally ran out of the theatre.

I was afraid to stand up.

In the car on the way home,

I apologized for laughing.

I thanked him for taking me ‘away’…literally.

He accepted my apology as he always does.

And then added,

“Don’t you tell ANYBODY about this!”

*snort

About inevertoldher

I love my kids, my husband, my four cats and my sister...not necessarily in that order. Writing, singing (poorly but loudly) and laughing keep me happy. When I eat well, exercise and post daily...I am at my best.
This entry was posted in Humour and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

