The gesture.

As I shoveled the snow from the drive

The recycle truck made its way down the road.

Start and stop, start and stop

Every house had a recycle box at the end of their driveways.

All, but one house.

This house belonged to a kind couple.

Illness and diminished abilities plagued their senior years.

Simple things like garbage day had become difficult for them.

When the rhythm of the truck’s engine changed,

I looked up.

A smile instantly crossed my face.

I stood leaning on the shovel

Knowing I was witnessing an act of kindness.

I watched the truck pull into the ‘box-less’ driveway.

The driver went all the way up to the house,

Got out and collected the boxes himself.

Then, left to carry on with his route.

My heart was touched,

By this decent act.

This driver’s generous behaviour set the tone for the day.

I told him so when he reached my drive.

Smiling, he gestured nonchalance at my compliment.

He tells me he has a few folks on his route,

He does this for as well.

Acts like this,

Makes my community…home.

What about you and your community?

Have you witnessed an act of kindness you want to share?

About inevertoldher

I love my kids, my husband, my four cats and my sister...not necessarily in that order. Writing, singing (poorly but loudly) and laughing keep me happy. When I eat well, exercise and post daily...I am at my best.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The gesture.

  1. Pingback: The gesture. | thegirlz

  2. I loved this- could you read a short post of mine (When Fish Want to Fly) http://melaniejeanjuneau.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/when-a-fish-wants-to-fly/ and tell me if it is too flipant? it is written in this style. I know it is not as good as My First Memory..

    Oh and PLEASE, you should enter the poem about dancing in for Voice of the Year!!

    • Oh dear, I just meant contemplating how to respond to you.
      I feel ‘too small’ in this huge new world of blogging to put my work into an award as big as that voice appears to be. You have a few years dedicated…you should nominate your work.

  3. ha, sorry.. I CAN nominate you then your sensibilities will not be bruised.. last year I nominated tons of my own stuff, so did hundreds of others

Leave a Reply

