The start of each day.

Written thirty years ago…

This takes me back to my childhood.

It is completely accurate

I can still see, feel, hear and smell

This scene described.

It makes me smile.

 

‘Before the sun rises,

Dad quietly walks down the hall.

Softly, the door locks behind him.

 

Soon after, the bed squeaks

Tell tale of Mom getting up. 

Her housecoat zips,

Her slippers shuffle against the carpet.

 

The kitchen light clicks on.

Mom squints to see the clock.

The tap bursts forth in high pressure

As the coffee pot is filled

And then emptied into the maker.

Seconds barely slip by,

Before the smell of coffee filters into my room.

 

The oven door opens noisily,

The fry pan retrieved and set on the burner.

Another click means the burner is on.

 

The fridge door opens with the familiar suction sound.

The meat drawer shakes open.

The paper wrapper enclosing the bacon,

Is taken to the stove.

As the bacon sizzles,

My appetite is triggered.

 

Four glasses are removed from the cupboard

Again the fridge is opened

Orange juice…cold, sweet, refreshing

Mom drinks hers immediately,

Setting the rest on the table.

Each of us gratefully receive ours,

As we make our way to the table. 

 

Dad enters the kitchen,

Discussion of the day’s activities begin.

I am invisible,

As they go about their business.

No one knows I am awake.

 

The morning quiet has been broken

My sister is awake

Showered, she is wide awake and ready to go.

How can she do that?

Where does she find all that energy so early in the morning?

 

I know it is coming.

I won’t be safely shut behind my door for much longer.

She is going to open it.

She will call my name.

I must answer her,

Or she will keep calling and calling.

I despise interaction before my shower.

I grunt back and ease myself out of bed.

I pass through the kitchen without a word to anyone.

 

 

Slowly, but inevitably something changes

As I rinse under the warm water.

By the time I return upstairs

I am fully awake.

 

My voice becomes the new noise source.

I am ready for my day.

Come and get me world.’

 

About inevertoldher

I love my kids, my husband, my four cats and my sister...not necessarily in that order. Writing, singing (poorly but loudly) and laughing keep me happy. When I eat well, exercise and post daily...I am at my best.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

