The pregnancy.

She came in the door sporting bright red cheeks and a smile.                                Image

The doctor had confirmed her suspicions,

She was pregnant. 

 

Hormones looked good on her,

She glowed for nine months. 

Pregnancy was her thing!

She was so pleased.

 

An achievement over me,

She was to be a mom first. 

I couldn’t take this from her. 

She owned it. 

She had wanted a child her entire adulthood. 

I was determined to live vicariously through her.

 

It was revealed, she was to have a baby girl. 

A baby girl! 

I was so happy the baby was to be a girl.

A niece for me!

 

Each and every appointment, I was in attendance. 

The geneticist’s, “Go for it”,

The neonatal appointments, “The baby has a strong heart beat”,

The ultrasounds…

Oh, how I teased her when her bladder was full!

But she still let me into the exam room!

 

I was thrilled to see her baby develop on the monitor.

I saw her heart beating, her spine, her legs and her hands…everything!

The due date grew closer.    

A C-section was booked due to the positioning of the baby.

 

I was beyond thrilled! 

I wanted the world to know. 

I started with strangers in the elevator,

“Hey, I am going to be an Aunt!”

The volunteers at the door,

“Hey, I am going to be an Aunt tomorrow.”

The parking garage attendant,

“Hey, I am going to be an Aunt.”

The waitress at the restaurant,

“Hey, we are having a baby tomorrow!”

(Imagine the reaction,

when the waitress inquired which one of us was pregnant!

I thought I was going to be an Aunt right then!)

 

All day her face was red with embarrassment,

As I broadcasted my excitement.

 

I wrote a note to my ‘niece’ on a napkin in that restaurant.

I told her how excited I was and how much she was going to love me!     

 

It was such a wonderful day,

Full of excitement and anticipation.

She glowed with love for her child. 

I was smitten with love for them both. 

About inevertoldher

I love my kids, my husband, my four cats and my sister...not necessarily in that order. Writing, singing (poorly but loudly) and laughing keep me happy. When I eat well, exercise and post daily...I am at my best.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

