The transfer.

Image

 

I wasn’t there.

Her babe was transferred.

I wasn’t there.

Her babe was taken to another hospital.

She cried and cried.

She wanted to go too. 

She didn’t want to be separated.

They said, ‘no’.

There were no beds.

She watched her baby being wheeled away.

It was devastating. 

Seventy-two hours passed.

Before, she was able to see her babe.

I watched as her baby

Was placed in her arms.

The nurses, gently, manipulated all the wires and tubes.

She wept. 

She cooed.

Overwhelmed with both joy and grief,

She silently sobbed,

When it was time to leave. 

Her babe was too fragile to suckle,

So she pumped her breasts,

And fed her

Through a tube. 

She learned to care for her babe.

Competently,

She became a nurse Mom.

Her babe stabilized

And transferred out of the ICU.

We celebrated.

There was hope in her voice

And life in her eyes again. 

Visiting rules changed for the floor.

Parents and Grandparents only.

I was not allowed to see her baby now. 

I had been with her every day,

When her Mom was not.

Every other day

Even when she was there.   

She knew I was sad.

She knew I loved that baby.

She knew she may not live.

She saved me. 

She requested a policy change.

She knew how much I needed to be with them. 

She said she needed me. 

She gifted me,

Made me feel very special.

Time was precious.

And she shared it with me.

 

About inevertoldher

I love my kids, my husband, my four cats and my sister...not necessarily in that order. Writing, singing (poorly but loudly) and laughing keep me happy. When I eat well, exercise and post daily...I am at my best.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The transfer.

  1. Liesl Garner says:

    Oh! This is so hard, and so beautifully written about such a painful journey. I want this to be fiction. I want this to not be real, with real people suffering through the tense and lovely lines.

Leave a Reply

