The Village.

Image

 

It was the twenty third of December,

When Mom’s body,

Succumbed to the effects of chemotherapy.

Now I had to tell the children.

Mom’s little superhero,

My four year old son,

Present at most of the appointments,

Sporting his Spider man costume,

Was completely absorbed,

In how many big sleeps,

Until Santa arrived.

I hated ruining that.

My nine year old daughter,

Wise beyond her years,

Was well aware,

As she was awake at dawn

When the call came.

She loved her Nana,

Her namesake.

Mom had been the full time caregiver

For both my kids.

They were very connected.

My children had spent the morning,

With a friend.

The kind of friend you call

And they show up

Like it was planned.

I took my children to Mom’s house.

They were sad and unsure.

The house was fully decorated,

For Mom’s favourite holiday.

Oddly,

Everything symbolized celebration.

There wasn’t a hint,

That something was amiss,

That Mom had died.

She had everything ready

Including the baking.

Incredibly,

She hosted Christmas

From Heaven.

The Christmas village,

Mom’s pride and joy,

Became our shrine.

We all took turns

Spending a quiet moment or two

In front of the lit houses,

And the village people.

The children knew the rule,

“Just looking, remember” Mom would prompt them.

My son,

Also, felt the connection between Mom and the village.

He laid each and every village character down,

On their backs.

He did not ask, nor explain.

He just laid them all out and walked away.

He said goodbye to his Nana,

In his own way.

We managed to

Give our kids a Christmas holiday

Despite our emotional state.

It was what Mom would have wanted.

We carried Christmas

Into her service three days later.

We even had

Some of the village pieces present.

Mom’s family and friends,

Sang Silent Night as a whole

To bid her farewell.

She was sixty four years old.

 

 

About inevertoldher

I love my kids, my husband, my four cats and my sister...not necessarily in that order. Writing, singing (poorly but loudly) and laughing keep me happy. When I eat well, exercise and post daily...I am at my best.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

