Parallel Lives

images28LF7U2S

As my daughter crosses the stage to receive her college diploma…

She sits at home recalling seven years have passed since she buried her babe.

I successfully gain a new contract. I am excited at the prospect of my company growing larger…

Her husband is fired after twenty five years of service.

My eldest child celebrates her twenty first birthday and moves into her first apartment…

She worries the new condo they have just purchased may now be out of their financial reach. They have already sold their home.   The condo is not ready.   They move into my house feeling very homeless.

My son earned a position on the rep soccer team. I am thrilled to see him outdoors and active. I proudly watch as his fitness and agility improve each week…

Her husband has Parkinson’s disease. His tremors increase with the stress of being wrongfully dismissed.

Games take us out of town twice a week. Carpooling, picnics and practices keep us busy…

They hired a lawyer. The appointments are endless.

We pack for our annual week at the cottage. My daughter arrives with friends in tow. We run to the water and get the floating dock. Everyone is feeling carefree and full of excitement Laughter and nonsense provides the perfect reconnection our family needs…

They move into their new condo. Just the two of them. It is quiet. They don’t know if they will be able to stay.

She is thankful for everything we do for them. She appreciates our help and support.

We are family. We are all we have. Each other and our parallel lives.

About inevertoldher

I love my kids, my husband, my four cats and my sister...not necessarily in that order. Writing, singing (poorly but loudly) and laughing keep me happy. When I eat well, exercise and post daily...I am at my best.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

